Sora 2 costs $0.10 per second of generated video; Sora 2 Pro costs $0.30 per second. An 8-second clip is $0.80 on Sora 2 and $2.40 on Pro. A 10-second clip is $1.00 and $3.00.
OpenAI bills by output length, which makes Sora directly comparable to Runway and Kling and not comparable to Veo or Hailuo without a conversion.
How OpenAI bills
Per second of generated video, with no credits and no resolution tiers in the tracked rows. Two rows exist: standard and Pro.
Both Sora rows
| Model | Resolution | Price | Billing | Per-second equivalent | 8s clip | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sora 2 | not stated | $0.10 | per second | $0.10 | $0.80 | 2026-11-08 |
| Sora 2 Pro | not stated | $0.30 | per second | $0.30 | $2.40 | 2026-11-08 |
Price gap to the next tier
Pro is exactly 3× the standard rate. The tracked rows carry no resolution, quality or feature data, so this page cannot say what the extra $0.20 per second buys. It can say the multiplier is flat: every additional second costs three times as much on Pro, at any length.
| Length | Sora 2 | Sora 2 Pro | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4s | $0.40 | $1.20 | +$0.80 |
| 8s | $0.80 | $2.40 | +$1.60 |
| 10s | $1.00 | $3.00 | +$2.00 |
| 30s | $3.00 | $9.00 | +$6.00 |
Money-saving notes
- Length is the only lever. There is no resolution tier, no audio toggle and no credit minimum in the tracked rows — the bill is seconds × rate.
- Standard for anything you will re-cut. At 3× the rate, Pro costs $1.60 more per 8-second clip. Ten standard re-rolls are $8.00; four Pro clips are $9.60.
- Short clips are cheap. A 4-second Sora 2 clip is $0.40. If your edit can use 4-second cuts, the per-clip cost halves against 8 seconds.
- No minimum is stated. Unlike Runway's
aleph2, nothing in the Sora rows says a short clip bills a floor.
Worked example
30 clips, 8 seconds, Sora 2: 30 × 8 × $0.10 = $24.00. The same 30 on Pro: 30 × 8 × $0.30 = $72.00.
FAQ
How much is a 10-second Sora 2 clip?
$1.00 on Sora 2 and $3.00 on Sora 2 Pro, at $0.10 and $0.30 per second.
Does Sora charge per second or per generation?
Per second of generated video. Both tracked rows are per-second rates, with no generation minimum listed.
What resolution does that price cover?
Not stated in the price row. OpenAI's model page lists the per-second rate without a resolution tier, so this site does not attach one. If resolution affects your budget, confirm it in your OpenAI account before committing.
Is Sora cheaper than Veo?
They are not on the same billing unit. Sora bills per second; Veo bills per generation with no clip length stated. For an 8-second 1080p clip, Sora 2 is $0.80 and Veo 3.1 with audio is $0.40 per generation — but that comparison assumes one Veo generation covers 8 seconds, which Google's price row does not confirm. See Veo vs Sora.
Source. OpenAI (Sora) pricing page, https://developers.openai.com/api/docs/models/sora-2, read on 2026-11-08. 2 rows, USD, excluding tax. Failed or unbilled generations are not included in any figure here.